Frequently Asked Questions
Everything you want to know and more.
How Old Do I Have to be to Consume Legal Marijuana?
For recreational use, you must be 21 years of age or older to purchase or consume cannabis. For medical use, you may get a medical marijuana card if you are 18 years of age or older. In some cases, you may get a medical recommendation if you are under 18 with the consent of your legal guardian.
Do I Need to Bring My ID Every Time I Want to Make a Purchase?
What Quantity Can I Purchase Per Visit?
You may purchase up to an ounce of flower or five grams of marijuana concentrate in a single transaction.
Do You Offer Any Medical Discounts?
We do! NEA has several discount programs that are offered to medical patients who meet the following criteria.
- Senior Discount: A 10% discount on all purchases by senior citizens (65+)- Qualifies with valid Massachusetts issued ID
- Military Veteran Discount: A 10% discount on purchases- Qualifies with valid Massachusetts issued ID and a valid Military Identification Card
- Low-Income Discount: A 10% discount on purchases dependent on the extent of need- Qualifies with valid Massachusetts issued ID and either Medicaid Card, SSI letter, or other proof of low-income status
- Terminally Ill Discount: A 20% discount on purchases and in some cases, complementary products and treatments. This discount requires a valid Massachusetts issued ID and signed note from treating physician in an ongoing relationship with the patient.
Any questions? Please feel free to reach out.
How Did NEA Start?
Great question! Head on over to our History of NEA page. We hope you’ll love NEA, even more, after reading our story.
What Forms of Payment Do You Accept?
Cash & Cashless ATM
Do You Accept Returns?
All sales are final.
What Kind of Products Do You Carry?
We offer premium flower, high-quality concentrates, relaxing topicals, and tasty edibles. Have a question about one of our products? Stop on in or reach out to us on our contact page.
Do You Have a Lounge or Other Area for Product Consumption?
No, the consumption of cannabis is not allowed on the store premises or in public.
Is it Safe to Drive while Enjoying Cannabis?
No, much like alcohol, cannabis can reduce reaction time and impair driving ability. Make sure you’re fully recovered from the effects of cannabis before operating heavy machinery or a motor vehicle.
Can I Purchase Cannabis Products for Resale?
No. It is a violation of state and federal law. Only state-licensed retailers may retail cannabis or cannabis products in Massachusetts. Don’t be fooled by illegal websites and delivery services.
Can I Travel/Fly with My Purchase?
No, you cannot fly with any purchases. You may only travel within the Commonwealth of Massachusetts with your recreational and medical products. Keep in mind that packages should remain unopened and away from the driver.
Medical Marijuana FAQs
How Do I Get My Medical Marijuana Card?
If you’re a Massachusetts resident, and you have a qualifying medical condition, you may sign up for the Medical Use of Marijuana Program. Click here (link to How to Get a MM page) for step-by-step instructions on how to get your Medical Use of Marijuana Program ID Card.
Who is Eligible to Become a Qualifying Patient?
Massachusetts residents at least 18 years of age:
A Massachusetts resident 18 years of age or older who has been diagnosed by a certifying physician as having a debilitating medical condition may become a qualifying patient. Massachusetts residents under the age of 18 will only qualify under limited circumstances and with an elevated standard.
How Can I Become a Qualified Medical Marijuana Patient?
We have a comprehensive guide to getting your medical marijuana card in MA, please refer to this for a deep dive on becoming a registered patient. You can find a few quick hits on the topic below:
- Only a licensed physician can decide if you qualify for medical marijuana under Massachusetts law. Here are the essential steps you need to take to become a qualified patient of NEA:
- Get an appointment with your qualified health care provider. This is required in order to begin the registration process. Your provider will evaluate you to determine if you are qualified for the medical use of marijuana.
- When your health care provider has issued you a certification, you can register for the Medical Use of Marijuana Program. If this is your first time registering, your provider will give you a PIN; this PIN is required for you to register in the MMJ Online System.
Please review this useful guide from the State of Massachusetts for further direction. If you receive approval for registration by the Medical Use of Marijuana Program, you will receive a Medical Use of Marijuana Program ID Card.
After you receive your card, visit us at our Fall River dispensary! We have an awesome deal for you. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us at any point if you are confused about the steps necessary to get your medical marijuana card. We’re happy to help. You can contact us here!
What Forms of ID do You Accept for Recreational Customers?
The following are acceptable forms of identification:
- Driver’s license, ID card, or instruction permit issued by any U.S. or Canadian province Massachusetts temporary license
- U.S. military ID
- Official passport
- Merchant Marine ID
A valid ID must show:
- Date of birth
- Signature (except US Military IDs)
- Expiration date (except Tribal Enrollment cards)
What Conditions Qualify for Medical Marijuana in Massachusetts?
The following conditions have been approved by the Commonwealth to qualify for medical marijuana: Cancer, Glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, Hepatitis C, Lou Gehrig’s disease (ALS), Crohn’s disease, Parkinson’s disease, Multiple Sclerosis, and/or other debilitating conditions as determined by a patient’s certified physician in writing.
For step-by-step instructions on how to get your Medical Use of Marijuana Program ID card, please Click Here.
How Much Marijuana Can a Medical Card Patient Purchase?
MA law allows a qualifying patient to possess up to a 60-day supply of marijuana for his or her personal medical use. The regulations define a 60-day supply as up to 10 ounces.
Are Doctors Required to Make Determinations About Appropriate Dosage?
No, doctors aren’t required to make determinations about appropriate dosages. The Medical Use of Marijuana Program already has regulations limiting a patient’s allowable supply. The physician’s responsibility is to determine whether or not you qualify for a medical marijuana recommendation on a patient-by-patient basis. At NEA, our friendly and knowledgeable staff will assist patients in understanding product differences, characteristics, and dosages. There are occasional exceptions, in which a physician may determine that a patient needs more than the allowable supply.
What Should I Do If My Doctor Won’t Recommend Me For Medical Marijuana?
First, don’t panic. See our guide on How to Speak to Your Doctor About Medical Marijuana. If you’ve already spoken to your doctor about medical marijuana and were unable to obtain a recommendation, please send us a message or give us a call. We’ll be happy to assist you in navigating the conversation with a certified physician to help you get the treatment you deserve.
I Have a Medical Marijuana Recommendation from Another State. Can I Use It to Purchase Medicine in Massachusetts?
No, unfortunately, this is prohibited. According to the Medical Use of Marijuana Program in Massachusetts, only patients registered with the MA Department of Public Health are permitted to enter medical dispensaries and purchase medical marijuana. However, patients from other states may purchase cannabis at stores that sell recreational cannabis as long as they are 21 years or older. NEA is the sixth store in the state to offer recreational options and we’re happy to help you find the right products for your needs.
Can I Be in Possession of Medical Marijuana in Massachusetts if I am From Another State?
Yes. Massachusetts law has a “reciprocity clause” which permits patients from outside of Massachusetts to be in possession of medical marijuana while in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. Even better, Massachusetts has legalized recreational cannabis making it possible for patients from out of state to purchase recreational products.
Do I Still Require a Medical Marijuana Card Now That Massachusetts Has Legal Adult Use?
Yes, you need to be a registered medical marijuana patient in MA in order to make purchases in a medical dispensary. However, adult-use customers without a medical marijuana card can make recreational purchases at NEA. Just be aware that tax rates differ between adult-use and medical marijuana products.
Click here for step-by-step instructions on how to get your card.
Is Marijuana Legal in Massachusetts?
Since June 13, 2018, medical marijuana is legally allowed to be sold in certified medical marijuana dispensaries in the state of Massachusetts. Massachusetts voters approved medical cannabis back in 2012.
On November 8th, 2016 Massachusetts voters legalized the use of recreational marijuana. The first recreational marijuana dispensaries opened in MA in November 2018. NEA becomes the sixth co-located medical and recreational dispensary to open in MA.
What Medical Marijuana Laws Should I Know?
With all the changes to medical and recreational marijuana laws recently in Massachusetts, we understand it can be hard to keep track! We created a comprehensive guide on the current medical marijuana laws to help. Check it out!
Where Can I Find Qualifying Medical Marijuana Doctors?
There are a number of qualifying medical marijuana doctors in Massachusetts!
Click here to find a list of certified medical marijuana doctors.
What is Adult-Use?
Any person 21 years or older can enter a retail marijuana dispensary and after presenting a government-issued ID (e.g. driver’s license, ID card or passport) for verification may purchase up to one ounce of flower or five ounces of concentrate in a single transaction.
When Will NEA Offer Recreational Cannabis for Sale?
NEA becomes the first recreational dispensary in Southeastern MA to open on January 20, 2019.
How NEA Encourages Responsible Use
The responsible use of cannabis is important to us at NEA. We want to make sure that education and safety are core components of how we approach cannabis in both medical and recreational contexts.
We emphasize the following tenets in our cannabis education material:
- Begin consumption slowly, and don’t overdo it
- Don’t drive under the influence of cannabis
- Don’t fly or travel across state lines with cannabis
- Store your cannabis in a safe place, out of children’s reach
All NEA packaging is compliant with state laws, including those related to child safety.
Do You Have Any Reference Material I Can Read?
Yes, we do! Click here to download our Consumer Guide. It’s a PDF so you can download it to have on your phone or even print it out if you’d like some guidance on the go.